Friday, May 29, 2009

Torchwood comes to London

Crows Nest
The British Fantasy Society and BBC Books will be hosting a Torchwood event at The George pub on London's Fleet Street on the 3rd July 2009.

Buy Into the Silence in the USA - or Buy Into the Silence in the UK

Authors of the Torchwood novels from BBC Books, Mark Morris, Sarah Pinborough and Guy Adams are joined by scriptwriter Joe Lidster in an informal panel discussion hosted by Andrew Cartmel, fellow Torchwood author for BBC Books and onetime script editor of Doctor Who.

The discussion will last approximately one hour and will be followed by an opportunity for people to buy books and have them signed by those attending. The event will start at 19.30.

Mark Morris is the author of 17 novels. In 2006 he compiled and edited Cinema Macabre, a collection of essays on horror films. In the world of Doctor Who he has written four novels featuring the fifth, eighth and tenth doctors. He has also written scripts for Big Finish's range of Doctor Who audio dramas. Bay of the Dead is his first novel for the Torchwood range.

Sarah Pinborough is the British author of five horror novels and her sixth, Feeding Ground, is due out from Leisure books in October 2009. Her short stories have appeared in several anthologies and she is currently working on A Matter of Blood, the first of a supernatural thriller trilogy for Gollancz, which will be in book shops in 2010. Into the Silence is her first Torchwood novel.

Guy Adams trained as an actor before accidentally becoming an writer instead. He is the author of books about Life On Mars, including the spoof police manual Rules of Modern Policing. When not pretending to be DCI Gene Hunt he pretends to be John Watson MD, working alongside the estate of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle to write a facsimile scrapbook of his time flat sharing with Sherlock Holmes. The result has been published by Carlton Books to celebrate the 150th anniversary of Doyle's birth. He is currently working on two original novels due to be published next year. The House that Jack Built is his first Torchwood novel.

Joe Lidster has worked for audio production company Big Finish, writing scripts for a variety of their ranges including Doctor Who, Sapphire & Steel and The Tomorrow People. In 2008 he made his TV debut with A Day in the Death, an episode in the second series of Torchwood. He also wrote The Mark of the Beserker for the second series of The Sarah Jane Adventures and Lost Souls a Torchwood drama for BBC Radio 4 that celebrated the switching on of CERN's Large Hadron Collider.

Andrew Cartmel is a television writer, novelist and playwright. He worked for BBC television for three years as script editor of Doctor Who. He became senior script editor on Casualty and was subsequently head writer and script editor on Dark Knight, for Channel Five. His stage plays, produced on the London fringe, include End of the Night and Under the Eagle. His novels include Warlock and The Wise (Virgin Books) Atom Bomb Blues (BBC) and, most recently, Miss Freedom (Powys).


The Doctor...

"All of time and space; everywhere and anywhere; every star that ever was. Where do you want to start?"

People Online Now

  © Blogger template Ramadhan Al-Mubarak by 2008

Back to TOP